Direct answer: every Chexy rent payment carries a fee — 1.75% on a domestic Canadian card, 2.5% on an international card — and successful referrals cut the domestic fee in steps: 1.5% once you hold 3 referrals, 1.0% at 5, and 0.5% at 10, on up to $50,000 of discounted spend a year. The tiers change what each payment costs; they do not change the $25 per-referral bonus, which continues with no limit past 10. If you pay rent through Chexy every month, the tier you hold is worth more over a year than any single bonus — and chasing the next tier is worth it only if the referrals behind it are real, completed ones. (The rent figures below are constructed scenes, not real visitors.)
| Successful referrals held | Fee on domestic card payments | What it means |
|---|---|---|
| 0–2 | 1.75% | Base rate. Two referrals earn bonuses but do not move the fee yet. |
| 3–4 | 1.5% | First cut. Small per payment, real over a year of rent. |
| 5–9 | 1.0% | The middle step most regular referrers land on. |
| 10+ | 0.5% | Lowest tier. The fee stops falling here, but bonuses do not stop. |
Two boundaries sit on top of the ladder. First, the discounted rate applies to up to $50,000 of spend per year — a renter paying $2,000 a month ($24,000 a year) stays inside it all year, while a renter paying $4,500 a month ($54,000 a year) crosses it in the twelfth month, and what rate applies past the cap is not stated on the wall summary, so check Chexy's current terms rather than assuming the tier rate continues. Second, the ladder is about the fee, not the bonus: the $25 per successful referral is a separate, one-time credit per referral, explained on the referral-code page — this post does not re-explain the bonus mechanics, it states the separation in one line because that page owns them.
Take a constructed renter paying $2,000 a month by domestic card. The fee at each tier, and the saving against the base rate:
| Tier held | Fee per month | Saving vs base, per month | Saving over a year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Base, 1.75% | $35.00 | — | — |
| 3 referrals, 1.5% | $30.00 | $5.00 | $60 |
| 5 referrals, 1.0% | $20.00 | $15.00 | $180 |
| 10 referrals, 0.5% | $10.00 | $25.00 | $300 |
Read the table the way a referrer should: the jump from 3 to 5 referrals is worth three times the jump from 0 to 3 ($15 a month vs $5), because each step cuts a larger slice of the remaining fee — 0.25 points, then 0.5, then 0.5 again. On a higher rent the same steps pay more in dollars: at $3,000 a month, the 10-referral tier saves $37.50 a month ($450 a year) against base. And the tier math only matters alongside the card's earn rate: a card earning 2% on Chexy payments nets +0.25% at the base fee ($5 a month on $2,000 rent) but +1.5% at the 0.5% tier ($30 a month) — the tier is what turns a marginal card into a clearly winning one. Which card earns on Chexy payments at all is a separate question, answered on the best-card page; this post assumes a card that earns and prices only the fee side.
A tier moves on completed referrals. That means a friend who opened your link before creating their account and completed a first payment in the app — the same completed-referral definition the bonus uses. Three things that feel like progress but move no tier:
If a referral you expected is not moving your count, the cause is almost always one of those three, and the ordered checks live on the missing-bonus diagnosis page — the bonus and the tier share the same tracking, so a referral missing from one is missing from both. One counting honesty note: this page does not claim a live tier counter inside Chexy's app or a precise posting delay for tier changes, because neither is stated on the wall summary — if your count looks behind, check Chexy's own account view before assuming the tier is lost.
Tiers cut the fee; they do not fix every rent-payment problem. Say the limits plainly:
Chexy runs two referral ladders at once, and they pay differently. The fee tiers on this page are permanent fee cuts that last as long as you hold the referral count. The holiday milestones — $100 at 2 friends, $300 at 4, $600 at 6, from November 1 to December 31, 2026, with a spend condition per friend — are time-bound bonuses that end with the promo, explained in full on the referral-code page. A friend can count toward both at once, but the milestones stop at the promo's end while the tiers do not, and chasing a milestone deadline is a different decision from climbing a tier: one expires, the other compounds every month you keep paying rent.
This page does not promise that any referral will complete — a friend's signup, payment, or timing can fail for reasons outside your control, and a tier built on expected referrals is not a tier yet. It does not state a post-cap rate, an international-card tier ladder, or a tier posting delay, because none of those is stated on the wall summary this page is drawn from. And its figures are Chexy's terms as summarized on the wall, which can change without notice: if the wall and Chexy's own terms ever disagree, Chexy's terms govern and this page is stale.
Do not assume so. Treat a tier as going forward: a referral completed after a payment cannot be assumed to reprice that payment. The tier lowers the fee on payments made once you hold it.
No. Referrals are unlimited and the $25 per successful referral continues past 10. Only the fee tiers stop improving at 10 — 0.5% is the lowest tier — while the per-referral bonus has no cap stated.
The discounted rate applies to up to $50,000 of spend per year. What rate applies past that cap is not stated on the wall summary, so check Chexy's current terms rather than assuming the tier rate continues.
No. A tier moves on completed referrals, not clicks: a friend who signs up through your link and completes a first payment in the app. A hundred clicks with no completed payment move no tier.
The tier ladder only moves when referrals complete — clicks do not count, scheduled-but-unpaid signups do not count, and a link nobody finds completes nothing. List your link once on the Chexy wall, where seekers already look for one, and let each completed referral do two jobs at once: the $25 credit, and one more step down the fee ladder toward 0.5%.
List your link on the Chexy wall →
Disclaimer: links on this site are user-submitted and NOT guaranteed valid. This site is not affiliated with Chexy. Reward amounts and terms follow Chexy's own referral terms and can change; the figures on this page match the Chexy wall's current summary.